Finding Warm Homes for Cold Noses Since 1991!

Golden Retriever Rescue of Atlanta

Hi, my name is LaShay, and it is my pleasure to introduce myself to you! I’m a female 5-year old Golden Retriever and German Shepherd mix. You can tell by my picture that I’m German in the front and Golden in the back. I was with my previous family since I was 6-weeks old. Recently, my mom has been having serious health issues and is not physically or financially able to care for me and my three doggy siblings. Sadly, she had to re-home all of us. And that’s when GRRA came into my life!

It’s definitely been a huge adjustment leaving the only home I’ve ever known and having to start all over. I must admit, I’ve been pretty scared and cautious of all new people that I’ve met so far. I was very upset being held in a kennel at the vet’s office, and that’s when everyone learned that being confined in small spaces is not my thing. After spending a couple of days at the vet and then my foster home, my fear of new people became more evident.

I know my foster family is trying to help me improve on this, and guess what? I think it’s working! When we are home, I am on high alert when new people enter. But I prefer it if a new person will just ignore me and let me go about my business of sniffing and greeting them on my own terms. After you pass my sniff test, I’m a whole other dog wanting your love, pets, and treats if you got ‘em. I even met 20 new people at Thanksgiving dinner and was just fine. Another thing that makes me feel better is if there is another confident and friendly dog around to show me that meeting strangers is not so bad. We are now venturing out of the house to see how I manage new people. To be honest, I’m more comfortable warming up to people at home, but I’m slowly improving in public places.

Other than the above, my foster says I’m a wonderful and loving dog. Once I bond with my new person, I am completely loyal and just want to be close to you. A ‘velcro’ dog if you will. I even prefer to have you around even when I eat. You and my trusty ball. It goes everywhere with me. So, get ready to play some fetch!

Here are some of the things on my wish list for my new furever home:

  • Quiet home with dog savvy owner(s). I’ll need a patient, nurturing owner who understands my needs and will be patient with me as I continue to learn how to trust new people. Older children 10+ years old would be fine if they also understand this. I would really love it if someone could be with me at home for most of the day.
  • Other dogs. I could be an only dog, but a respectful, confident dog that won’t want to play too much or get into my space would be a plus. Preferably not a dominant or puppy dog. (I haven’t met any cats yet.)
  • Nice and easy introductions. Slow, calm introductions on my own terms to new people as you read above.
  • In-home dog sitter. When you go out of town, I would like an in-home pet sitter since I don’t like being in a kennel or boarding facility.
  • But now I'm looking for the most important thing and that’s to find a home to call my very own! I miss being part of a family, and I’m ready to find my furever family. If you think you could be it, please let GRRA know!

    Sincerely,

    LaShay



    If you are interested in learning more about LaShay, please contact your adoption consultant, or email placement@grra.com!

Upcoming Events

Loading...

Recent Posts

Loading...